WiP Weds 7.13.11 ~ In Which I Have Willpower

Well. After telling you all that I needed to adjust my Artichoke Socks because of my row gauge, it turns out I didn’t need to after all. So I had to rip back a little bit (AGAIN) and continue the instep pattern decreases as written. (This is really a good thing, as the faster decreases made the end of the sock very uncomfortable when I tried it on for length.)

It is still a fun pattern, though, and I knit merrily along the foot until I reached the toe.

Artichoke Sock 7-12-11

And that’s where the sock stands today. Not bad progress at all, if I may say so. I really like this pattern. The way the sole is written is fun and really hugs your foot. I had been planning on doing TurtleGirl’s suggested heel decreases (instead of the traditional side-gusset decreases) but with the decreases already put in a different place I decided not to. The next pair of socks I knit I want to try the heel decreases, but I may use the artichoke sole again for other patterns. I really like it. Here’s a close-up:

Artichoke Sole Detail

I’ve also been knitting on the Sweetheart Sweater. It hasn’t made much visible progress, so I’m not going to bother with another photo. It is moving along, though, and I should get to start the armhole shaping soon. (Yay! Something other than continuing the pattern for miles and miles!)

And, in addition, I worked on the Babette Blanket. I needed some mindless knitting for a meeting, and realized I didn’t have any. Instead of casting on something new, I decided to work on mindless crochet. Here’s how much I’ve gotten done in the last week:

Babette Squares 7-12-11

Not all of these were made during the meeting, though probably more than half were. (After working on the squares for my 2-hour meeting, I decided to sew I the ends when I got home. And then after I was done, I kinda kept crocheting…)

I am glad I’ve been sewing in the ends as I go. Well, most of the ends get covered with the next row of crochet. But the starting ends, and any other random ends (except the last one) have been sewn in already. I’m leaving the final ends because I might want to use them for sewing the squares together. I haven’t decided yet, but I want to leave the option open.

Babette Squares 7-12-11 2

I love this blanket so! I never thought I would make a granny square afghan, but this one is not your standard granny square afghan. It is so much cooler, and I can’t wait to lay it all out and determine square placement. It’s going to be so pretty when it’s all done!

(Also – I have so far resisted the urge to cast on something new, even if it is a Christmas present. The week has been gradually improving since Monday. Here’s hoping that holds…)

2 thoughts on “WiP Weds 7.13.11 ~ In Which I Have Willpower

  1. Chris says:

    The Artichoke Socks are gorgeous, but my feet would hate that strip down the center of the sole.

  2. Carrie#K says:

    I don’t think my feet would like that strip either but the pattern itself looks fabulous. Are those beads?!?

    I’m not crazy about 60’s & 70’s Granny Square colors but I’ve always had a thing for the squares themselves. Can’t wait to see yours all put together! Good idea for a meeting project, nice and small.

Leave a Reply

