Old Dog, New Trick?

Old habits really do die hard. In this case not me, but my cat.

She’s really very cute, and worth a good deal of trouble. But man, can she cause trouble. Only, maybe it was me causing trouble for myself.

I made the mistake, when she was young, of always feeding her first thing in the morning when I got up. This made sense at the time, as I had to get ready for work and that way I wouldn’t forget to feed her. (Hah. Like she’d let me forget.)

Now, every morning, SHE decides when it’s time for me to get up and feed her. And if her food dish isn’t the first thing I visit when I get up, she gets progressively more annoying.

It’s a good thing she’s cute.

20110425-030951.jpg

6 thoughts on “Old Dog, New Trick?

  1. It’s funny how they get so used to routine. Mess that up and it upsets them to the core.

  2. S.J. Noir says:

    “It’s a good thing she’s cute.”

    I spent a good deal of my cats’ lives saying the exact same thing. But yours is quite adorable! Especially with that faux-innocent expression.

  3. Chris says:

    I am really, really happy that my kitties are locked out of the bedroom at night, or Chaos would have me awake at 3 am to feed him. 🙂

  4. Carrie#K says:

    She sounds like Sheba. For 20 years I thought I was an early riser. As it turns out, it was her one job, to roust me out of bed at the crack of dawn. I still miss that.

  5. Brigitte says:

    Suzy is INSANELY cute.

    Welcome to my world. With my guys, any time between 3:30am and 5:30am is open season. You want to sleep? Too bad. They want to eat.

    Yup, it’s a good thing they’re cute alright.

  6. I have had that problem with my cats in the past. They figured out – finally- that the more annoying they were, the longer it took to get them fed, or they got locked into bathrooms if they got to bad. (that was an extreme case) So mostly now, they leave me alone. Mostly.

Leave a Reply

