Friday Reads 3.18.11

First of all, I’m going to do the Friday 56 today. I don’t have the “official” instructions in front of me at the moment, but the gist of it is:

  • Pick up the book nearest you.
  • Turn to page 56.
  • Post the 5th (full) sentence on that page.

So, here’s mine:

She had the parameters of the site almost determined when one of them yelled, ‘Pile up the broken bits. Make a ramp!’

It’s from THE SECOND SUMMONING by Tanya Huff, the second book in the Keeper Chronicles. (I love that series.) This is the book that’s currently living in my purse as lunchtime reading.

I tend to read a lot. (You can tell by looking at the list in my other blog, Book-Wyrm-Reads, linked here and in the sidebar.) I’ve been tracking my reading progress for several years now, and… well… sometimes my book counts amaze even me. (We are not having a reading competition here, or Chris as SOC would win. Hands down. Possibly even beat me and all my blog readers combined.)

A lot of people ask how I manage to read so much. (Well, I’m reading a lot less now that I’m in a serious relationship again, but that’s beside the point.) One way is to carry a book with me everywhere. (Some are e-books stored on my phone.) I read over lunch and dinner when I’m eating alone. I read at night sometimes, prior to bed. I read when I’m waiting for a long line.

I don’t know about you, my readers, but I can’t imagine life without books. In some form or another, I need fiction. It’s a great escape for me, a way to relax and let go the cares of the real world. There have been times when I escaped too much into fiction, and lost touch with bits of myself as a result, but that’s fodder for another blog post.

What about you? Where do you like reading best? When do you make time to read, or do you merely wish you read more?

Happy weekend!

2 thoughts on “Friday Reads 3.18.11

  1. Chris says:

    Love that series, too!

    I love to read in a comfy chair outside, on a sunny warm day, although being mostly in the shade so I don’t get burned. 🙂

    I make time to read every day.

  2. Sherri says:

    When I worked outside the home I always carried a book in my purse and an extra in the car just in case, LOL. Now that I’m a SAHM I just make time during the day to read. As to where…any where, any time!

Leave a Reply

