RoW Update – the belated edition

… not that I haven’t been usually belated for the check-ins this whole challenge. But, there actually is progress to report this time! So, yay!

First of all, as I mentioned, I switched my main goal to be 200 words a day, 5 days a week. I’ve been mostly making that. Some days more, some days slightly less (but at least 150 daily, which is more words than I’d been getting, as well as keeping me in the writing mentality).

Second of all, after a bit of experimenting, I’ve decided which story I’m going to write. I had toyed with a Shiny! New! Idea! (something about an emotional vampire and how she manages to not be evil) but when I started writing it was when I had the mediocre word count days. Then I decided I was going to switch back to the Colonial America Steampunk I’d been planning to write for RoW, and the words started flowing much faster and better. So I’m sticking with that idea.

It’s funny, isn’t it? The way we can talk ourselves out of the best plans? At least – this time – I was able to talk myself back INTO the good plan.

5 thoughts on “RoW Update – the belated edition

  1. Chris says:

    Yay for selecting the better plan instead of the shiny new idea!

  2. S.J. Noir says:

    What Chris said and oooo, Colonial America Steampunk, just as shiny if I may say! 🙂

  3. Lorraine says:

    Nicole- You talked yourself into it- which is great.

    I excel at it, the other way around.

  4. Carrie#K says:

    I like the Colonial American steampunk idea better, FWIW.

  5. shari says:

    If you can accomplish your small goals, they turn into big ones. Good job on your daily work – I’d love that option, but it’s going to be a while before that’s realistic for me. Every other day is a more guilt-free and doable effort for me, but I’ll be pleased when I can attack a daily session the way you are!

    I hope you gave yourself a big ol’ pat on the back when you did your check in. Have a lovely weekend!

Leave a Reply

