WiP & RoW80 Update: the focus edition

It’s time for another ROW80 check in, and this time I have something to report. Not a whole lot to report, mind, but something.

I think I need to adjust my goals. Between life and being sick (which is an unpleasant part of life) I think that 6 days a week is too much for me. The being sick is a large part of it, but not all. There’s also the still pretty new relationship (which is a much more pleasant part of life). I don’t talk about personal things on the blog much, but suffice it to say that while I think he would have no problem with me taking time on days we’re hanging out together to do some writing, *I* have issues with it. I think we are still in the “figuring things out” stage of being a couple, and I’m not yet ready to try to split my focus between the writing and the boyfriend. There will be time for that once we’re more established as a couple.

So, I’m going to scale back to only aiming for 5 days of writing a week. And for January, I’m continuing with a 30-minute-in-my-world goal, but I may revisit that to a word-count oriented goal next month. We’ll see.

Focus item #2: I might be switching projects. I got a new idea while on cold meds, and the shiny idea is what’s speaking to me right now. I don’t have the energy to fight with it, so I’m going to see what develops. If, come next check-in, I’m still playing with the shiny new idea instead of working on the project I had planned to do for RoW, I’ll make a decision at that point which to write (words, not plotting) in February.

Focus item #3: You can get a lot done when you focus on one knitting project at a time. Those who have been following me for a while know that I’m not one for knitting monogamy. I have many projects on the needles right now. And yet, since I cast on my Chroma Argus Shawlette about a week and a half ago, that’s all I’ve knit. And it’s come an amazingly long way.

(Bad photo colors… sorry about that.)

Now, I haven’t knit as much these past several days as I had been the first week I was working on the shawl. But still, that’s a lot of work done in a short time. I have completed the first 3 repeats of Chart A, which are all the pattern really calls for. I’ve also gotten about 1/2 way through the 4th (optional) repeat of Chart A, with a lifeline marking the start of this repeat in case I need to rip it out due to yardage issues. I’m still really enjoying the knit, and I look forward to showing it off at Knit Night on Thursday. But, I have to tell you, I’m also looking forward to bringing something else to work with me tomorrow to knit on… This one has just gotten too big to be easily portable now.

7 thoughts on “WiP & RoW80 Update: the focus edition

  1. Sherri says:

    That shawlette looks wonderful. I love the colors!

    I’m so glad I elected not to do RoW80 this time round…I knew life would be crazy for me πŸ™‚

  2. Chris says:

    Well, the colors are definitely sunny, which is appreciated today!

    Your reasons for adjusting your goals make good sense. πŸ™‚

  3. An says:

    My first instinct was to write, “No, you’re making a big mistake! If you suppress your writing now for the relationship, when it’s established and you need that writing time, he’ll be resentful. It’ll be awful!”

    Seeing that you’re cutting back to 5 days a week cuts off my over-the-top dire warning. πŸ™‚

    Hope you feel better soon, Bookie. :*

  4. Lorraine says:

    Nicole- Life happens, and usually not in any logical order- so go with it.

    The shawl is pretty.

  5. Carrie K says:

    So monogamy does speed the knitting along eh? I’ve heard rumours. It’s looking good! It’ll be cheery and warm when you show it off Thursday.

    I was going to the dire warnings myself except that you started off with six days. Six! Practically all week! I feel overwhelmed just thinking about it. πŸ™‚

    • Nicole says:

      Knitting monogamy = actual noticeable progress. Who’da thunk? πŸ˜‰

      I started RoW being all ambitious and such. Life smacked some sense into me. πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

