Totoro!

… or rather, Totoros. (Totoroes? Totori? I have no idea.)

Finished Totoros 01

These are a couple of little critters that I finished last year, but couldn’t post about because they were presents for my guy, who just happens to sometimes read the blog. So, you get to see them now. Aren’t they fun?

Totoros 01

If you don’t know, a totoro is a forest spirit in the anime movie My Neighbor Totoro by Hayao Miyazaki. It’s a really cute movie, and is the first of several anime films I’ve seen with my guy. So, when I saw the patterns for these guys on Ravelry a short while later, I knew what I was knitting him for Christmas.

They were a lot of fun to make. A little fiddly at times, and I wouldn’t try knitting them with fingering weight yarn (too small!), but they were fun. I might have to make my sister and BIL a set, too.

Finished Totoros 02

Suzy liked playing with them too, but not so much that I let her play with them often.

13 thoughts on “Totoro!

  1. Chris says:

    Aw, they are adorable!!!

  2. Oh my goodness, they are just TOOOOO cute!!!

  3. Carrie K says:

    Suzy looks quite fond of them. They’re cute.

  4. LesleyW says:

    Ahh, as soon as you said Totoro I thought Studio Ghibli. Is he a Miyazaki fan?

    I got Howl’s Moving Castle and Spirited Away on DVD for Christmas – my two favourites.

    • Nicole says:

      He is a big fan of Miyazaki and Studio Ghibli! We’ve also watched Spirited Away together, and he owns just about every other Miyazaki film. I’ve read Howl’s Moving Castle, and look forward to watching it.

  5. Dorien says:

    Catnip, you just have to fill one with catnip………….

  6. Lorraine says:

    Nicole- Aww- how cute are they? Can you make one for Suzy?

  7. Elizabeth says:

    Acccch!! Too much cute!! I want some too! Oooh, can you make me a Domo-kun? ooooooh… 🙂

Leave a Reply

