On Endings and New Beginnings

By the time this blog post goes live, the new year will be a week old. (More or less.) I’ve spent a good deal of time trying to determine whether or not to make resolutions this year, and I’ve decided not to. “Resolution” sounds too final for what I want for 2011.

Instead, I’m going with “Intentions.” (Courtesy of Susan Bischoff.) Things I intend to do this year. This gives me the flexibility to change my mind part-way through the year if I find something isn’t working for me without feeling like I’ve failed. It gives me the option to revist this list and modify any things that need it. In fact, I probably should revisit the list quarterly and see where I stand, what’s working, and what’s not. Changing an intended action is much easier than forcing oneself to stick to a resolution that isn’t working. And really – what’s the goal here? To decide now what I’m going to be like all year? Or to spend the year growing and improving? Yeah, that’s not really a question, is it.

My Intentions for 2011

Writing

  • Finish the RoW Round 1. If it works, keep going.
  • Write a YA for NaNoWriMo. Probably the “sequel” (loosely tied together) to T.
  • Maintain my 2-crits-a-month schedule for my writing group, whether I post in that month or not.
  • Agent hunt with an aim to getting T published.

Blogging

  • Maintain my 3-day-a-week minimum blog posting schedule, including the following features:
    • WiP Wednesdays (usually knitting, though not always)
    • FO Fridays (when I have finished objects to discuss) or Eye Candy Fridays (when I don’t) or Friday Snippets (when I feel like it)
    • Some kind of regular update on my RoW or other challenges. Not necessarily weekly.
    • Book reviews. Maybe weekly, maybe not. But more regular than they have been these past few months.
  • Keep on top of my feed reader. Make sure to keep the feeds I want to keep, and delete the ones I don’t.

Knitting

  • Finish my Serendipity Stole.
  • Knit a pair of socks for myself for every pair I gift.
  • Included in these socks for me: a pair of Star Trek socks and the Kitri socks.

Reading

  • Review (at a minimum) a book a month.
  • One book out of every five should be outside my usual reading habits. (AKA something other than paranormal romance/urban fantasy.)
  • Read at least 5 books I haven’t read before from the banned books list.

Life

This one’s a bit harder, because it requires more people to be involved. But I will do what I can to get these things to happen. (And unlike my RoW80 intro post, I’m not going to publish measurable goals for this one. These are more private goals, and as such how I go about them is my business.)

  • Find an EDJ that I am happy with.
  • Be me in all the relationships in my life (rather than adjusting to be who someone else expects).
  • Get My Stuff in My Room tidy. And keep it that way.
6 thoughts on “On Endings and New Beginnings

  1. Nicole says:

    I like it.

  2. Chris says:

    It all sounds doable!

  3. Lorraine says:

    Nicole- I’m going to keep track of all the books I read this year- it may be revealing in some way.

  4. Sherri says:

    I like your intentions 🙂

    I’m curious which banned books you’ll choose.

  5. Found you through Chris’ Linkity….I love the idea of
    intention rather than resolution!

  6. Oh, I’m working on being me too. I think your parenthetical (rather than adjusting to be who someone else expects) is part of what I have to work on too. It is scary because I want everyone to like me, you know? But I don’t know why I think I have to be like them for them to like me. I like people who aren’t just like me (though I may not agree with them). I wonder, in order to be yourself with someone do you have to reveal all or is that being untruthful?

Leave a Reply

