Monday MEMEs

I have two MEMEs for you today, because my brain is otherwise fried when it comes to creativity. (We open our show in 12 days. (Eeek!) That means all thought and creativity has to go there first.)

First of all, the Friday 56. I know. It’s not Friday. Do I look like I care?  😉

“We’re not trying to rob you, we’re heroes,” Luke said. “We’re trying to help.”

from Tekgrrl by A.J. Menden

About the Friday 56

  • Grab the book nearest you. Right now
  • Turn to page 56.
  • Find the fifth sentence.
  • Post that sentence (plus one or two others if you like) along with these instructions on your blog or (if you do not have your own blog) in the comments section of this blog.
  • Post a link along with your post back to this blog.
  • Don’t dig for your favorite book, the coolest, the most intellectual. Use the CLOSEST.

~*~

Second of all, the Facebook 15 Authors MEME. I got this one from Susan Bischoff, author of the fun YA eBook Hush Money. It’s a really fun read, and I’m looking forward to the next one in the series. (Write faster, Susan.) It also seems this is now a print book, too! Very cool.

Here’s the deal on the MEME:

You’re supposed to write a list of 15 authors who have influenced you and will always stick with you. Part of the directions: “Don’t take too long to think about it…”List the first fifteen you can recall in no more than 15 minutes.”

So, like Susan, I’m going to list the authors, and give a brief (though briefer than hers) reason why. (Unlike Susan, I have no intention of putting this on Facebook.) However, I’m stopping at ten. Because I feel like it.

  1. Anne McCaffrey ~ Her Pern series sucked me in to not only the world, but the characters, and showed me that YA doesn’t have to mean childish. (I still get confused that the Harper Hall trilogy is considered YA, but there you have it.)
  2. J.R.R. Tolkien ~ You can’t read a book like The Hobbit for a 5th Grade book report (my choice of books) and not have it stick with you. ‘Nough said.
  3. S.L. Viehl ~ She somehow manages to blend edgy with romantic with thrilling, and wrap it all up in a novel package that I just can’t put down. And she does this on a regular basis. I am in awe.
  4. Holly Lisle ~ Speaking of edgy, she can do edgy like no one else. Of course, some of her stuff is too edgy for me, but it’s a good reminder that I have to take risks with my writing if that’s what the story calls for. Playing it safe just to avoid alienating some people helps no one.
  5. Kelley Armstrong ~ She’s the writer who’s had the most influence on my own writing. Mostly because of the online writing group she hosts on her forum, but also because she’s a great lady and a good mentor. Not that I have the audacity to claim she’s been mentoring me personally. But she’s paying it forward to the members of her OWG, which I have belonged to for 5 years now, and when I met her in person a couple of years ago she was very supportive and friendly. Plus, I have been privileged to beta read for her, and that changes the way you look at things.
  6. Shiloh Walker ~ A Christmas or two ago was the first time I asked for a book as a present fully aware and admitting that it was a romance with steamy bits in it. The book was one of Shiloh’s, and the request was made to family. This may not seem like a big thing to most people, but usually I just buy my own romances and let people gift me books that are safer. So the experience stuck with me.
  7. Laurell K. Hamilton & J.R. Ward ~ Between the two of them, I learned that it is OK to start out liking a series and end up hating it. And I learned how to stop watching the train wreck, and move on.
  8. Christopher Stasheff ~ His book Her Majesty’s Wizard is one of my favorites anywhere. I love the fact that his world uses religion as such a big part of it, because (as he mentioned somewhere, maybe the author notes?) religion *was* a huge part of the medieval world so many fantasy novels claim to be mimicing. Also, he combined magic, music, dragons, and Gilbert & Sullivan. What’s not to love?
  9. Wrede & Stevermer ~ I’ve said before how much I love their letter game books. I’ll say it again. (I love their letter game books.) It’s a reminder that authors should HAVE FUN with their writing. They were having fun when they wrote that. And it shows.
  10. A.A. Milne ~ Winnie-the-Pooh. Need I say more? (You want more? Okay, fine.) The last chapter of The House at Pooh Corner. If you’ve ever read it, you should know why it will stick with me forever.
3 thoughts on “Monday MEMEs

  1. Thanks for the plug!
    I’m so right there with you on LKH. That was one of the things I learned too, though it didn’t occur to me when writing my post.

    I’m glad you decided to pick this up. It was fun reading yours. I now return to slaving over Heroes ‘Til Curfew, per your request. (PS, cover reveal on Wednesday!)

  2. Chris says:

    LKH helped me learn that lesson, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

