Monday is for Markers

Why is Monday for markers? Well, because at the end of last week, I took a class on Copic Markers. They are fun! I spent a good chunk of time playing with them afterward. I actually had some of the markers already, and have made some cards with them, but I’d never taken an official class. (Demos, while helpful, aren’t quite the same.)

10-7 Cards 03

These are some of the things I colored while playing with my markers. Quite fun. Of course, what you see in the pictures in this post aren’t just the colored images — they’re the images after they’ve been colored and then mounted and put on a card.

10-7 Cards 04

Naturally, a lot of the success with these things comes from having good coloring technique and the right supplies. But the more I play with card making, the more I realize that it’s not just the supplies and the technique that make a difference. It’s the vision. You can have all the skill in the world, but if you don’t know how to apply it, nothing will come of it. No matter how many Copics I were to buy, it wouldn’t help me a lick if I couldn’t see what to do with the images I’d colored.

10-7 Cards 02

The purpose of this blog is not a tutorial. It’s not to get any of you interested in Copics, nor to really inform you of them. It’s not even to serve as a wish-list for my family members who read my blog. (Though if you really want to buy me markers, please ask which colors I’d like and which ones I already have.) All this is, really, is a way for me to say “Look! I have yet another new crafty hobby that I really don’t know where I’m going to find the time for actually doing it!”

10-7 Cards 01

But it’s fun.

2 thoughts on “Monday is for Markers

  1. Chris says:

    O noes! Another hobby!? šŸ˜‰

  2. Lorraine says:

    Nicole- They’re really nice. It’s fun to do something different.

Leave a Reply

