A Different Kind of WiP

I know, Wednesdays are usually for knitting WiPs. But today I wanted to talk about my writing. Partly because, as you may have noticed, things have been rather quiet on that front lately.

One of the main reasons for the silence has been due to what stories have been inspiring me lately. The one I’ve been getting the most excited about is one I decided to write for NaNo. And NaNo is in November. So unless I want to cheat (which I haven’t yet done in the five years I’ve participated and have no intention to start this year) I can’t start actually writing until November 1.

I can plot and plan about it, though. Sadly for blog news, if I can’t actually write the story yet, I don’t feel I have much to share on here. I don’t want to talk it up too much ahead of time, because I’ve found from past experiences that I have a tendency to get over-enthusiastic about a story when I do that… and then my first draft can’t live up to my rather inflated expectations, so I get discouraged and let the story drop. Not something I enjoy doing with a story I’ve been so excited about to begin with.

What I might do, or attempt to do, is write letters from the POV of my main characters. That counts as “planning” and “character development” and not actual story words, so isn’t cheating by NaNo rules. If I do that, you can be sure I’ll post the letter(s) on here… if nothing else, as proof that yes, I am still writing.

Granted, I have been writing. I’ve been doing outlining and character notes. I haven’t written it all down yet, but I’ve been trying to create the world in my head — and so far, I think it’s working. I have a pretty good idea what I want this whole thing to look like. I think it’s going to be an urban fantasy, it’s tentatively set in Santa Cruz (living there proved to me that it fits the feel I want for this story), and unless things change drastically before November 1, it will be in third person from the POVs of both the hero and the heroine. Yes, there will be romantic elements, but it’s not planned as a romance, exactly.

Anyway, I’m very excited about this story. Hopefully enough so that I can get my 50K finished for NaNo even with all the other things I’m going to be spending time doing. Even better would be actually managing to finish the story by the end of 2010, though we’ll have to see about that one. There are still too many variables for me to make that a goal.

2 thoughts on “A Different Kind of WiP

  1. Chris says:

    You must have a much, MUCH better memory than do I. 😀

  2. Sherri says:

    Good luck with NaNo…I tried it last year, got caught up with real life baggage and didn’t finish, not sure yet if I’m going to try this year.

Leave a Reply

