Mini-Book-Review

So, I meant to write this post this morning. It’s now nowhere near morning, and I’m only just getting to it. With all that’s been going on in my personal life over the past few months (95% good stuff), blogging hasn’t been what it should be. I think I’ll be slowing it down for a while, and instead of feeling guilty for not blogging every weekday, I’m only going to plan on three posts a week — probably Monday, Wednesday, Friday. We’ll see if that works better.

So, the book review part… I don’t actually have much to say about the two books I have to talk about today. The first is Touch The Dark by Karen Chance. I wanted to like this book. I really did. There’s just one major problem: I didn’t like the direction some of the major characters took. This is more of an Urban Fantasy than a Paranormal Romance. Fine. No problem. I like both genres. But there was a seduction scene, and I didn’t believe it because I didn’t like the guy involved much. The guy I would have preferred the heroine to be with ended up doing a complete character flip, and being someone I didn’t expect him to be. (Sorry for the vagueness, but I hate spoilers.) Long story short, I nearly didn’t finish the book because I didn’t like the way the secondary characters developed. (Grade: B-)

The second book I’ll mention today is Magic Below Stairs by Carolyn Stevermer. I picked this one up from the library because it is set in the same world and with some of the same characters as Sorcery and Cecilia that Stevermer co-authored with Patricia C. Wrede. (I’ve gone on before about how much I love that book, so I won’t go into depth again now.) I knew this was a YA. Fine. I like YA. However, it’s much less YA and much more middle-grade. As in, it’s too young to be YA. I picked it up as lunch entertainment, and have practically finished the thing already. Over lunch. Fun story, great characters, but too easy a read for me. If you don’t mind reading books geared toward that age, or if you ARE that young, great. Pick this up, and I think you’ll enjoy it. But don’t expect a book written for the same age range as the letter game books that started the world. (Grade: B)

2 thoughts on “Mini-Book-Review

  1. Saranissa says:

    I feel pretty much the same as you about the Karen Chance books, I read a couple in the series as I was really hoping they would improve but I struggled to finish each one…

  2. Chris says:

    Hmm. I have the Karen Chance books on my TBR shelf, but haven’t been inspired to read them… I see them staying there or getting cycled out to the used book store. 🙂

Leave a Reply

