Week 16: The Summoning

Okay… so this is a late 52 Books in 52 Weeks post, because the show is eating up all of my time. It is also a re-post of a book I’ve read before, because the book I read last week hasn’t been released yet so it almost seems unfair to post a review of it now. However, said book (Kelley Armstrong’s THE GATHERING, first in the next YA Otherworld trilogy) was wonderful and I will review it after I’ve re-read it for my beta review.

Anyway, that said, here is my review of THE SUMMONING, first in the current YA Otherworld trilogy…

~*~

THE SUMMONINGThe Summoning
by Kelley Armstrong
(young adult urban fantasy)

This book is the first in Kelley’s new YA series, “Darkest Powers.” For those who have read her “Women of the Otherworld” series, this is set in the same universe, and supposedly book 2 has mention of the adult characters, but the two sets of books are not scheduled to overlap at all.

This book is awesome. Just a really good read.

It focuses on a teenage girl and what happens to her on the day she sees her first ghost… “and it sees her back.” From there, the book progresses to how she learns to deal with the fact that she can, indeed, see dead people — and what she does when she learns her new friends also have strange talents.

If you know Kelley’s series at all, you will definitely pick up on hints and clues about the other characters. If not, you are given some clues, but they won’t be as obvious. One way or the other, however, the book is fast paced (once it gets going – it’s a bit slower at the beginning as everything’s introduced) and the twists that Kelley is so good at are still there and enjoyable. If I have a complaint about the book, it’s that it is a series and I don’t get to have the second one now. ;) Seriously, though, the ending is definitely a series ending and not a novel ending. There is an end to the book, but it’s almost as if it’s an Act ending, and not a story ending.

But. That said, I still don’t have any complaints about this book at all. It was fantastic.

3 thoughts on “Week 16: The Summoning

  1. Lorraine says:

    Nicole- You know, ever since I was a teenager, and read Stephen King, stuff like that scares me, even tho, on a rational level, I know it’s fiction.

    Or do I?

  2. Chris says:

    The cliffhanger ending put me off reading anything else in this series.

  3. Hanna says:

    I loved it too. Luckily I had book two in my hands when I finished it. Sadly I did not have book three…because it’s not out yet. I was really getting bored of the adult otherworld books so I was happy to like these.

Leave a Reply

