Week 12: Broken

This is my weekly 52 Books in 52 Weeks post…

Broken
by Shiloh Walker

(contemporary romance)

Let me start by saying that I don’t normally read contemporary romances. I don’t, actually, typically read contemporary fiction of any kind other than the urban fantasy genre. Every now and then I will read a contemporary mystery or thriller that has no paranormal element to it at all, and sometimes I’ll even enjoy them. But the last non-paranormal, non-fantasy, contemporary book that I can remember reading was Holly Lisle’s Night Echoes, and that was released in 2007.

Until Broken. I really enjoyed this book, too.

I think I would have enjoyed it a touch more (enough to make the A, rather than the high-B grade) if the suspense had stayed ramped up a bit more going into the final confrontation with the bad guy. There’s a fun mystery twist that was obvious in retrospect and completely took me by surprise when I was reading it. I’m not going to spoil it. But: that twist was revealed just before the big showdown. I think I would have preferred the suspense to have been kept up until the middle of the showdown. It would have required a bit more creative license, and I can see why Ms. Walker didn’t do it, but that would have been my choice. Then again, when I do read a contemporary book, I like the thrill aspect. (Not horror. Just suspense.) So that could easily be a personal preference.

The romance aspect of this book is good, too. Some steamy scenes, some sweet ones, and both characters keeping secrets that eat them up inside. All that makes for a good romance-novel-relationship. The character development was very well done, as I have come to expect from one of Shiloh’s books.

Now, I haven’t yet read Fragile, the book that precedes this one. After reading Broken, I think I need to.

Grade: B+

4 thoughts on “Week 12: Broken

  1. Sherri says:

    You’ll enjoy Fragile. Thanks for the review of Broken.

  2. Chris says:

    At some point, I must read the Shiloh Walker books on my shelf…

  3. shilohwalker says:

    Thanks for the review… glad you liked it! If you pick up FRAGILE, hope you like it, too. 🙂

  4. Lorraine says:

    Nicole- There’s a whole other world out there- I read very little fiction these days.

Leave a Reply

