Book Hunting

I promised a book reivew on the blog this week, didn’t I? And Tuesdays have historically been my day to talk about books. So this is good timing.

I have a loooong list of books TBR (to be read). I update it with reading data as I read these books, so it will not be getting shorter. Ever. It’s in a spreadsheet (formerly Excel, before I switched back to Mac and ended up loving iWork) that is many, many pages long. Due to my love of spreadsheet forumlae that can tell you some of the most random and bizzare information if you calculate them correctly, I know that I have:

  • 467 books on my TBR spreadsheet
  • 204 of which have been read
  • 25 books that I couldn’t finish, for one reason or another
  • 263 books left to be read
  • 87 reviews noted on the spreadsheet… but I haven’t kept this part current

I think I will do a 52 weeks of books thing again next year, where I (officially) read a book a week and review it. That’s where a lot of my book reviews on the list have come from.

Oh, and the TBR list does not include an entire series unless I’ve already read it. For instance, I’ve read books 1 & 2 of Nalini Singh’s Psy-Changeling series, so both of them are on the list. Book #3 is also on the list, because I know I want to read it, too. I suspect I will want to read the entire series… however, as I don’t know this for sure until I read the next book, I add them to the list one at a time. (Why do I do this? Experience. Namely, between JR Ward and LKH I realized that just because I like a book or two doesn’t mean I will continue to be enthralled by the series.)

Right. So this is a long rambling way to say: I have two books to review, one of which has been out since something like 2006 and I only just found out about it.

First up:

Hunting the Hunter by Shiloh Walker

(This is the aforementioned book that’s been out for years.) I found Shiloh Walker through Lynn Viehl. In one of her many give-aways I won a large stack of books, which included Through the Veil by Ms. Walker. It took me a while to read this book, but when I did I loved it and went looking for more.

That “more” was the Hunter series. I’ve read the first (Declan & Tori’s story) and now the seventh (? or whatever HTH is) of these books. They’re good. I must say, they’re rather different from each other, but they’re good.

The Hunter series started out as erotica, published in ebook format by Ellora’s Cave. It has become more mainstream since, and been picked up by traditional print publishers, but still shows its roots. I don’t really have anything against steamy scenes, though for me they have to be really well written to be good — it’s too easy for them to become formulaic or laughable.

Hunting the Hunter is well written, and though it’s not the best new book I’ve read this year (Through the Veil was better, I thought) it was certainly enjoyable. Enough so that I knew before I finished it that I wanted Hunter’s Need (newly released in the series). (The excerpts she posted on her blog helped.)

Very enjoyable book. But, you must be prepared for a vampire romance, in which the characters spend a lot of time in bed (even for a romance).

Next review:

Shadowlight by Lynn Viehl

This is the first in her new series about the Kyndred, which is a spinoff of her Darkyn series. You can, technically, read these without having read the Darkyn books and not get lost, but honestly, why would you want to? The Darkyn books (starting with If Angels Burn and wrapping up after seven books with Stay the Night) are just that good. (Again – we are still talking vampire romances. May not be your cup of tea.)

I was worried that the Kyndred novels would get too caught up in the Darkyn world, or not enough. But I was wrong. There was a perfect blend of old and new, enough references to things of the first series to tie the two together without crippling the new series. Characters from the Darkyn show up as well, as you’d expect given the importance of the Kyndred by the end of Stay the Night. But it’s not too much, which is good.

Lynn’s books really hook me, and I have a hard time making them let go. This one was no exception.

It’s hard to know how much to say without giving things away… But I will say that the Bad Guy for this story was believable, and we see enough of his transformation into monster for it to work. (I’m withholding judgment on the presumed series Bad Guy, as it’s too soon to tell.) Also, while still a romance, this was a lot *less* of a romance than it could have been. There’s a lot less of the vampire angle too, that being more a Darkyn thing and less of a Kyndred thing.

I’m waiting more-or-less patiently for the next book in the series. Mostly less.

Maybe it’s just me, but I find the more I hear about Twilight the more I want to sink my teeth into a good, adult vampire book. (Pun intended.) These are both good options for that.

Anyway, there are my two promised book reivews. If you’ve made it this far, go have some chocolate. It’s okay, I said so.

2 thoughts on “Book Hunting

  1. Chris says:

    LOL – off to get my chocolate! I know what you mean about Twilight

  2. Tamara says:

    Thanks for the reviews! I read The Missing by Shiloh Walker and found it to be okay. I thought it would be a quick read, but it took me forever and if I hadn’t been determined to finish it, I probably wouldn’t have. The reason I wanted to read it so much was because I had seen a preview for it online and recommended it to the library. I had never before seen a book preview done like it was a movie and it was so compelling! (I don’t remember where it was anymore, or I would share.)

Leave a Reply

