Read-a-Thon Progress

So… the Read-a-Thon! It has started! I am late!

Though, given that I only decided to do this yesterday, I think that’s excusable. I also think it’s excusable that I’m not actually going to be reading the full 24 hours, due to silly things like having made other plans prior to this one.

Read-a-Thon

However, I am going to see how much I can get read in one day. I’ll post updates to this post, rather than making an entirely new post. Then on Monday I’ll do a “formal” wrap-up.

Happy reading!

~*~

(all times listed are Pacific time)

  • 10:00 am: Started the Read-a-Thon with a re-read of Sorcery and Cecilia: or, the Enchanted Chocolate Pot by Patricia C. Wrede and Caroline Stevermer. (I never get tired of this book!)
  • 1:30 pm: about half-way through Sorcery and Cecilia. Normally I read faster than this, but seeing as my reading time has been interrupted by chores and lunch I think it’s understandable.
  • 4:00 pm: Finished Sorcery and Cecilia. I do so love that series, and the premise. Here’s a fun quote:

There is nothing quite so reassuring in an awkward situation as knowing that one is well turned-out, and while I hope I am not so fainthearted as to require such strategems, I am not so foolish as to overlook their value.

  • 4:15 pm: Doing some blog surfing for other Read-a-Thon readers, and then I’ll be picking up some A.A. Milne to read about Winnie the Pooh.
  • 9:10 pm: Finished Winnie The Pooh. I’ve now made a cup of tea and am writing a blog update (this one) before settling in with The House at Pooh Corner. We have been babysitting my niece (still are), so dinner took a bit longer than anticipated, and I couldn’t read during it. Neither could I read during the playtime afterwards, in which I was given all manner of toy food.
  • 11:44 pm: Have now finished The House at Pooh Corner as well. I do so love these stories. My dad used to read them to me with different voices for each character. I can still remember the voice in which Piglet would say, “Help, help, a Horrible Heffalump!” (or “Herrible Hoffalump,” depending on which part of the story). Only… I can never read the final chapter without crying. I suppose it’s good crying, but still. I mean, it’s titled, “In which Christopher Robin and Pooh Come to an Enchanted Place, and We Leave Them There.” (*sniff*)

    And now I shall be thinking in long sentences and big words, and prefacing many of them with “In Which”s; and here’s a quote for you, because I like it and because I can:

“Rabbit’s clever,” said Pooh thoughtfully.

“Yes,” said Piglet, “Rabbit’s clever.”

“And he has a Brain.”

“Yes,” said Piglet, “Rabbit has a Brain.”

There was a long silence.

“I suppose,” said Pooh, “that’s why he never understands anything.”

12 thoughts on “Read-a-Thon Progress

  1. Shelly Burns says:

    Glad you decided to join us. I won’t be able to read the whole time either. Can’t stay awake that long, and have to help hubby with some chores.

  2. Chris says:

    Heh, I never got sufficiently organized. Next time! I’m subscribed to that feed now. Hopefully your reading is going well.

  3. Kait says:

    I got about 50 pages from Beyond the Reflection’s Edge done. I’m returning to my reading right away! 🙂

  4. Maree says:

    Doing great for a late start!!!

  5. L-Squared says:

    Winnie the Pooh is in my book pile too! It might be later tonight before I get to it though.

    Happy reading! 🙂

  6. bybee says:

    Sounds like you’ve got a good plan. Winnie-The-Pooh — YEAH!
    Happy Reading

  7. Marg says:

    Hope you are enjoying your readathon experience.

  8. Kim says:

    Winne the Pooh sounds like a great evening read. You sure did accomplish a lot for someone who joined so late!
    Happy reading and big rah rah cheers to you!
    *smiles*
    Kim
    (page after page)

  9. Jessi says:

    You’re doing great! 🙂 Happy reading!

  10. LesleyW says:

    Winnie-the – Pooh is fantastic. My favourite character though is Eeyore, my sister’s is Tigger.

  11. Firewolf says:

    I love it on days when I can just sit and read all day long. I’m not sure I’ve ever read for 24 hours straight before, however I have comiced for 24 hours (except for a few for work) and that was a lot of fun. I guess yesterday was 24 hour comic day.

    A couple of weeks ago I read for about 12 hours. It rocked. I was finishing up a book and happened to already have the second book in the series so I just kept on going and finished that one too.

  12. Firewolf says:

    PS love the quote btw 🙂

Leave a Reply

