Snow Flurries

2007 Snowflakes 04

Here are my crocheted snowflakes – or at least the 4 I’ve made so far. I’m thinking that I want to make it a tradition of giving these as gifts for Christmas, so I’ll need to make more than 4.

2007 Snowflakes 10

Suzy had never seen snow before. But she knew what to do with these snowflakes.

2007 Snowflakes 09

I took individual pictures of the snowflakes, too, since I’d been asked about patterns and such. All except for one of these guys comes from the Leisure Arts booklet #2941, “Our Best Christmas Thread Crochet.” I want to get some more snowflake pattern booklets, but this one is a good start and has some other good patterns in it too.

The one remaining (top left, below) comes from a web site that I found via Ravelry. The pattern itself is available from the Australian Women’s Weekly. The one thing that I noticed is it seems double crochet for them is what I know as single crochet. So I modified the pattern based on what the picture looked like (and the dc/sc assumption) and it turned out great.

I made all of these using DMC Cordonnet Crochet Cotton in white, size 20 and a size 10 steel crochet hook. (I think that’s a 1.3 mm.) The LA snowflakes called for size 10 thread and a size 6 (1.8 mm) steel hook, but I wanted them to be a little smaller than called for. And I used basic fabric store bought stiffener for them. You could also use starch or watered glue, if you prefer.

Also, I added beads on the picots (and a few other places). I strung enough beads onto the thread first, then started crocheting. And I just winged it, since none of the patterns call for beads. They don’t really show up in these pictures, but they add a nice touch and should sparkle under Christmas tree lights.

2007 Snowflakes 11-13-07

11 thoughts on “Snow Flurries

  1. Jessica says:

    So pretty! I made a few snowflakes once upon a time. I wonder what happened to them….

  2. Larry says:

    Hmm, if Suzy had a blog, I’m sure that her entry for today would be, “What fun! My person made little snowflakes for me to play with! I don’t think they will last too long, however. I think I can make them melt in record time!”

  3. Laura says:

    those are beautiful!

  4. Tez Miller says:

    Suzy is Australian – I haven’t seen snow either 😉 She’s in the pose my Manny takes before he pounces on something (usually something I can’t see as Manny has more imagination than I do 😉 ). I suspect that evil red eye was your camera’s fault, aye? (I never know the trick to avoiding that.)

    Ooh, you have stairs – big house! 🙂

    Have a lovely day! 🙂

  5. spincerelyyours says:

    So pretty! That is the kind of snow that I like — Crocheted and in California and not in my backyard:)

  6. Wow… so beautiful!
    We have never seen snowflakes before…
    Wonder if they can be eaten…

  7. Lorraine says:

    Nicole- Tell Suzy to add me to your Christmas list-
    they are so pretty and I can’t crochet for beans!

  8. Brigitte says:

    OK. WOW! Those are amazing! I can’t crochet to save my life, and those are just lovely. Look at the detail, you did an amazing job.

  9. Jess says:

    Gorgeous! I particularly like the bottom right one. 🙂

  10. tiennie says:

    These are so pretty!

Leave a Reply

