April Goals

So, this blog post is about stuff that I started yesterday, but since yesterday was April Fool’s Day (and a Ten On Tuesday to boot), I didn’t want to post it then. Today is close enough to the start of April for this to still be timely.

As you may have noticed if you were following along, I didn’t actually post anything about the end of the last Round Of Words (2014 Round 1). This is a standard thing for me, though it’s not intentional and not something I am proud of. But it’s become usual for me to start the ROW all enthusiastic and gung-ho, and then fizzle out by the end of the three months.

And that is why I am not doing the ROW this quarter.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the support group and the idea behind the ROW. I love the way it’s organized. And I love how it keeps me accountable. What I don’t love is how I participate. It seems that I try to do too much. I focus on improving too many areas of my life, and so inevitably only one or two things get proper attention, and the rest fall by the wayside. If I’m going to do this, I need to focus on one thing at a time, until the habit is made. Then I can maintain that habit and work on creating a new one.

So. With all that said, the best thing for me personally to come from the last ROW is that I have been regularly going to the gym 2-3 times a week. (Which was the goal I made for that. I didn’t want to jump in with any more, in the interest of finding something I could maintain.) I got that habit set, so yay for achievements! I think I can easily continue to maintain it, too. And instead of doing what I had been doing for prior ROWs, and then adding more to the existing goal until I eventually fail, I am going to LEAVE THIS AS-IS. No additions to this goal. If I put in more time, great. But that’s not the focus of this month.

This month is for writing. Camp NaNoWriMo style.

I didn’t make any plans going into Camp NaNoWriMo. I hadn’t even considered doing it until over the weekend. (AKA the last three days of March.) Yet here I am. In a cabin with Raylene Barclay and Joely Sue Burkhart and Diana Castle, planning to write my little heart out this month. Pantsing a novel in the most free-style way I’ve ever done, with no plot, no world-building. My main character doesn’t even have a name yet.

The main goal is not to get a story written. It’s not even to get a certain word count (though if you look at the Camp NaNo site, I do have a word count goal listed). It’s to get me in the habit of writing.

And that is my only goal for April. It’s the only one I need.

2 thoughts on “April Goals

  1. Yay for Camp NaNo! I agree, I do the same thing with goals and sometimes overwhelm myself with all the things I want to do. I can’t do ALL the things. One thing at a time is perfect. Here’s to a great April!

  2. You summed up my about ROW80 perfectly. Here’s to a fabulous April and lots of wordage!

Leave a Reply

