WIP Weds ~ 6.12.13

Today’s WIP Wednesday will feature the same projects that last week’s did, largely because that’s what I’ve been working on this week. Since they are both June KALs, this should come as no surprise.

(Reminder: one of the two is the mystery shawl designed by Wendy Johnson of WendyKnits. If you don’t want spoilers, don’t read beyond the first WIP.)

First up is the super sekrit Christmas present for my sister. So I won’t be showing off the front of the mitt, which is now starting to look like what it is. However, I can show you this picture of the back of the mitt.

yarma

I’m pleased with the way these are turning out, and once they are finished I plan to schedule an FO post for next January (once she’s received them). That way you’ll be able to see the finished product, even if it’s not public until months after I finish them.

Second is the less-secret-but-spoilery mystery KAL.

yarma

This one has been getting a lot of knit time, and there are many reasons for it. I want to keep up with the clue release dates, for one. I want to show off as much of it as possible at my next S’n’B day, for two. And I’m loving the yarn/pattern combo, for three.

yarma

It’s Paton’s Lace, and really soft for an acrylic blend. There’s very little of that plasticky feel I usually get with an acrylic yarn. The mohair and wool added to it probably help. I’m still holding back a completely enthusiastic review for this yarn until after I finish the shawl and try to block it out, but so far so good. (And even if it doesn’t block nicely, the shawl will still look good. It’s more open than some lace knit in wool is pre-blocking.)

And just for kicks, here’s the current state of the Watermelon Socks:

yarma

I’m nearly done with sock #1, and hope to have time to finish this one up soon. These feel like a good summer sock to wear, but I don’t know that I’ll have them done in time for that. We’ll see… these are good mindless knitting, since it’s all stockinette after the ribbing. And sock #2 should be easier in the measuring department, since I can use sock #1 as a model and won’t need to try it on as I go.

Anyway, there’s my knitting for the week. Happy hump day!

7 thoughts on “WIP Weds ~ 6.12.13

  1. Vonna says:

    What type and brand of yarn is that in the first picture? if you don’t mind me asking.

  2. kathy boyer says:

    I JUST LOVE those watermelon socks. We have had really sweet watermelon already; its only JUNE! Yipee

  3. That shawl is to die for. I love the pattern and the colors. Can’t wait to see the finished product :)

    And no, I’m actually NOT dying to knit after seeing these. 110 just isn’t knittin’ weather no matter how you look at it!

  4. kadootje says:

    the mitts are soooo super sekrit cute! (in person) I love the watermelon socks, but you knew that already. Very tempted to order a skein of that for myself :)

  5. mrspao says:

    I love the colours of your mystery shawl :) Lovely socks :)

Leave a Reply

