FO Friday ~ Steamy Shawlette

Instead of a Friday Reads post today, let’s take a look at an FO!

But first, have you entered my birthday/wedding/blog milestone contest yet? Go. Enter. The contest is only open until Monday, June 10, but the FO will still be here when you get back.

All done? Awesome. Then let’s take a look at the pretty FO.

This is the Age of Brass and Steam Kerchief.

yarma

I guess mine is less of a kerchief and more of a shawlette, because I tried to make it as large as possible with the yarn I had available. I used nearly 2 full balls of Nashua Handknits Ivy yarn. This is fun stuff, full of sparkles. It’s also very soft to work with.

yarma

The pattern itself was mostly enjoyable, too. There are a lot of increases in the pattern, though, and I had a habit of nearly forgetting them. I like the shape the extra increases gives it. Probably my biggest complaint about the pattern was the sheer amount of stockinette. I love the way the eyelet rows pop out. They look fabulous. But it’s a shame that I got bored with the large chunks of stockinette needed in order to make the eyelets pop like that.

yarma

All in all, this is a great knit. Would I make another one? Maybe, though there are so many shawl patterns out there that I want to try, it seems unlikely that I’d make a duplicate of one if I wasn’t completely in love with it. I wouldn’t rule out a duplicate shawl, though. You never know.

yarma

SPECS:

From my Ravelry project page

PATTERN: The Age Of Brass And Steam Kerchief
DESIGNER: Orange Flower
YARN: Nashua Handknits Ivy in Blue Teal
NEEDLE: US 8 / 5 mm
START/END DATES: March 27, 2013 – May 27, 2013

MODS: I kept knitting when the pattern said to end. When I thought I was too close to running out of yarn to risk continuing any longer, I worked an additional eyelet row (though not the reverse stockinette rows flanking it) and bound off. I probably had enough yarn left for one, maybe two more rows, but I’m pleased with the length and this way I have some spare yarn in case of snags.

2 thoughts on “FO Friday ~ Steamy Shawlette

  1. lorraine says:

    Nicole- Very nice and the colour looks great with the peonies.

  2. kathy boyer says:

    I love it. I just finished my shawl in a similar color…love the summer blues

Leave a Reply

