WIP Weds ~ 1/30/13

Hooray, it’s Wednesday and I’m remembering to post my knitting WIPs! It seems like it’s been forever since I’ve had a craft-related WIP Weds. I guess getting sick will do that to you.

Anyway, let’s start with the NON-KNITTING WIP, shall we?

WIP Weds 1/30/13

This, as you may remember, is the Babette Blanket, and it’s a crochet project. It’s a lot of fun. One warning for anyone who chooses to join the squares the way I have been: this will change the size of the pieces, so you will need to either add rounds of single crochet in some places (if you feel creative and crochet-math smart) or you will need to do what I am doing, and ease the blocks together.

To explain a little further for those who are lost: I am joining the pieces by holding the wrong sides of two squares together, and working a single crochet through the corresponding stitches on both squares at the same time. It’s like a three needle bind-off in knitting, only with crochet. But what this means, is that you effectively have a row of single crochet between the the squares. If you then try to crochet into this extra row on your next join, you will end up with one stitch too many on that side. So, I’ve been easing the pieces together where needed in order to avoid this causing a problem.

WIP Weds 1/30/13

And now on to the knitting. That up there is the current progress of the Starflower socks. I really like the way this pattern and yarn work together. (The yarn is Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in Black Purl.) I am changing one thing, though, and that’s the heel. It’s written with a short-row heel, and I subbed in Miriam Felton’s Better-Fitting* Toe-Up Heel. (The asterisk indicates that it’s a better fitting heel for her. It is also a better fitting heel for me.) Here is the heel:

WIP Weds 1/30/13

I really like the way it fits. I perhaps started the gusset increases a row or two too late for an absolutely perfect fit, but it is darn close. I also would rather have the toe a smidge too loose rather than a smidge too tight. Too loose won’t cause me to prematurely put holes in the toe of the sock.

And that there is my third and final WIP for this week. That is my newest WIP, an Ice Queen cowl. I’m using some baby alpaca that I’ve tried for two other projects (the Serendipity mystery stole and the Shirley sweater). I don’t think the yarn and bead combo is a good match for those two projects. I have frogged one, and will be frogging the other shortly. However, I love the way it’s working for the Ice Queen.

WIP Weds 1/30/13

(The color in the top picture is a lot closer to the real color, but the progress is more accurate in the second photo.)

And the beads are great for this project. Maybe not as flashy as the silver-lined seed beads in the project featured in the pattern, but I like the way they look on the knitting. They should blend just well enough to be subtle, while being different enough to add a touch of class. I think I am keeping this cowl, but if I like it enough I may make another one (or two) with this same combination to give as gifts.

We’ll see. I certainly have plenty of yarn and beads to make many of them. Maybe I’ll just have to find other similar patterns instead. Perhaps a different shawl pattern would be okay. One of the biggest issues I had with the Serendipity stole was how heavy the beads made it. The beads were largely concentrated at the end of the stole, and I didn’t like the way it seemed like it was going to hang when finished.

Any thoughts from the knitters out there? Pattern ideas or suggestions?

4 thoughts on “WIP Weds ~ 1/30/13

  1. Chris says:

    I’m a big fan of toe-up socks with gusset and flap heels – I completely agree that they fit better. :)

  2. mrspao says:

    Your WIPs look wonderful!

  3. kathy b says:

    You are doing great on your own without my suggestions. THe ICE cowl is amazing amazing amazing. THe sock heel looks like a winner and Babette is an ever favorite. Ive never ever ever met one I didn tlike named Babettte

  4. Seanna Lea says:

    Your WIPs are so much more interesting than my WIPs (which I should try to post about once a week). I really need to do a pair of socks!

Leave a Reply

