Book Review: Industrial Magic

Well, not only did I read book 4 of the Women of the Otherworld series earlier in the month, I remembered to write the review earlier in the month! Yay!

As with the other review of this series, this is for Moonlight Gleam’s Reading Challenge.

Industrial MagicThis is quite likely my favorite book in the series. First of all, it has my favorite main characters: Paige and Lucas. Second, it has bunches more characters I like as secondary characters. (I won’t go into who, since I’ve been told I need a chart of some kind to keep this from being confusing.) Third, it has a great plot.

Now, most of Kelley’s books have good plots. Some of the others are even as spectacular as this one. But for me, this is the first plot in the book series that far outshines the others. This is where Kelley first really shows her storytelling abilities, in my mind.

Without going so far into the book as to cause spoilers, there are so many levels to this story. So many tiers to the plot, so many twists it takes that are – somehow – not actually plot twists. And everything flows so smoothly. It all makes sense. Nothing feels like it comes out of left field.

I also particularly like the way Paige and Lucas’ relationship issues (which is the internal conflict for the book) work so effortlessly with the case they are working on (the external conflict). Granted, it’s not always as easy – or even possible – to make the two conflicts so seamless. But in this case, since working on cases together (rather, NOT working on cases together) is a symptom of the internal conflict, having the external conflict be a case that needs investigating is perfect.

In addition to the well-crafted story, there is plenty of humor. One of my favorite scenes (humor-wise) in the book comes near the very beginning. Paige ends up in an elevator with a half-demon who could easily overpower her. When asked if she’d seen that scene in a movie, she replies that yes: what happens next is that the heroine gets attacked, then overpowers her attacker, escapes, and unfortunately sends him hurtling to his doom. (It’s funnier the way Kelley wrote it. Believe me.)

At any rate, while I enjoy most of the series, this is my go-to re-read. If I want to read a story from the series, but don’t want to read them ALL, this is almost always the one I will pick up. If you also decide to pick it up, I hope you enjoy it!

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Industrial Magic

  1. Chris says:

    LOL about the chart! :D

  2. Lorraine says:

    Nicole- Great review. I really feel I need to expand my reading interests. There’s whole other worlds out there.

  3. mrspao says:

    Sounds interesting. Thanks for the review.

  4. Yay for getting the review up earlier in the month lol! :D I really enjoyed this novel in the series and I’m so glad that you did too! Things really take a turn in the series from here on out and I’m sure you will love it! Thank you so much for participating in the reading challenge!

  5. by the way sweetie, you are one of the winners for month four challenge!!! Please send me an email at (moonlightgleam@gmail.com) with the book of your choice (up to $15 from the book depository) and your mailing address! :) Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

